Home > Runs & Races

Vancouver’s Sabrina Wilkie delivers with stellar marathon debut in Victoria

Vancouver's Sabrina Wilkie crushed her debut marathon and Daniel Kipkoech won for the third consecutive time at Sunday's Victoria Marathon (photo: BC Athletics).

2016 Victoria Marathon

Vancouver’s Sabrina Wilkie had a debut marathon to remember.

She won her first-ever attempt at the marathon on Sunday as she was the first woman across the line in Victoria. In addition to her race win, she was also crowned the British Columbia marathon champion as the race doubled as the provincial championships.

On Sunday, Wilkie bested the field by running 2:45:54. Wilkie was battling with Eva Vail, the wife of notable American runner Ryan Vail, who led the early parts of the race. Vail finished in 2:4731. This year marked the second time that Vail has finished second at the Victoria Marathon.

Wilkie has a lifetime best of 1:17:07 in the half-marathon, according to All Athletics, as well as a 10K personal best of 34:05. The Vancouver resident has represented Canada internationally making the national cross-country team in 2014 for the North American, Central American and Caribbean (NACAC) Championships.

RELATED: Thanksgiving Sunday in Kelowna, B.C. kicks off with Okanagan Marathon.

In the men’s marathon, Daniel Kipkoech won his third consecutive Victoria Marathon with a stellar winning time of 2:20:33. Winners had a great pay day on Sunday as both Kipkoech and Wilkie took home $4,000. An extra $5,000 was on the table had the course records been set.

Bryan Andrews (2:29:00) is the 2016 B.C. marathon champion as he came in second overall and was the first B.C. resident across the line.

The Victoria Marathon attracted more than 8,400 participants on Sunday in what is one of the largest fall races on the west coast. The 37th annual race weekend also included a half-marathon, 8K and relay. Organizers said that more than 50 per cent of runners and walkers were from off-island as the event is a popular destination race.

Official results can be found here.

Half-marathon winners

8K winners