Home > Runs & Races

This is Canada’s team for the 2018 IAAF World Indoor Championships

Fourteen athletes named to Athletics Canada's team for the 2018 IAAF World Indoor Championships

Gabriela Stafford
Photo: Michael Doyle

Four men and 10 women will represent Canada at the 2018 IAAF World Championships, Athletics Canada announced Wednesday.

The 14-athlete squad will travel to Birmingham, U.K. for the March 1-4 championships, held every two years. Notable qualifiers on Canada’s team include Damian Warner, an Olympic bronze medallist in the decathlon and Shawn Barber, a world champion pole vaulter.

“This is a small, but highly competitive team,” head coach Glenroy Gilbert says. “The standards to make the team were rigorous and we feel those competing in Birmingham are ready to reach finals and compete for medals.”

Photo: Michael Doyle.
Photo: Michael Doyle.

The women’s 1,500m features two Canadians including Gabriela Stafford, a 2016 Olympian, and Kate Van Buskirk, the newly-minted national record holder for the indoor mile. The championships mark Van Buskirk’s first national team appearance in more than three years following a bronze medal performance at the 2014 Commonwealth Games. Two women also qualified in the 400m including Kelsey Balkwill and Travia Jones.

Three-time Olympic medallist Andre De Grasse is not on the team as he decided to forego the 2018 indoor season. (Indoors typically spans December to March.)

Crystal Emmanuel
Photo: Michael Doyle.

A number of Canadian athletes will compete at the 2018 Commonwealth Games, an outdoor championship, the following month in Australia.

CBC Sports will be streaming the event beginning March 1.

Specific qualifying standards needed to be reached in order to become eligible to compete for Canada at the IAAF World Indoor Championships.

Team roster

Name Hometown Event
Kelsey Balkwill Essex, Ont. 400-metre
Shawnacy Barber Toronto Pole vault
Johnathan Cabral Péribonka, Que.
60-metre hurdles
Brittany Crew Toronto Shot put
Crystal Emmanuel Toronto 60-metre
Travia Jones Regina, Sask. 400-metre
Geneviève Lalonde Moncton, N.B. 3000-metre
Tim Nedow Brockville, Ont. Shot put
Christabel Nettey Surrey, B.C. Long jump
Alysha Newman London, Ont. Pole vault
Gabriela Stafford Toronto 1500-metres
Kate Van Buskirk Brampton, Ont. 1500-metres
Damian Warner London, Ont. Heptathlon
Jenna Westaway Calgary 800-metres
Name Position  
Glenroy Gilbert
Team Head Coach
Simon Nathan Team Leader  
Kristine Deacon Team Manager  
Charles Allen Team Coach  
Heather Hennigar Team Coach  
Les Gramantik Team Coach  
Richard Parkinson Team Coach  
Dr. Simon Pearson
Team Chiropractor
Garfield Crooks
Team Massage Therapist
Dana Way
Team Biomechanist