Home > Runs & Races

Athletics Canada names 2018 Commonwealth Games team

A crop of 46 Canadian athletes have been nominated to the 2018 Commonwealth Games team

Andre De Grasse
Photo: Michael Doyle.

Athletics Canada announced Tuesday the national team nominations for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

A total of 46 athletes have been named to represent Canada at the April 4-15 event in Gold Coast, Australia in what is expected to be one of the largest athletics competitions of the year. Notable runners on the team include Andre De Grasse, Mohammed Ahmed, Crystal Emmanuel, Sage Watson and Damian Warner, who won gold in the decathlon at the 2014 Commonwealth Games.

RELATED: The real Sage Watson

De Grasse is currently listed in the men’s 200m though Athletics Canada notes that “specific event entries for each athlete could be subject to change based on field sizes and other factors.”

The Commonwealth Games are an international multi-sport event for athletes from the Commonwealth of Nations. Canada is coming off a 2017 IAAF World Championships in which the nation was shut out of the medals.


Notable withdrawls from the team include Melissa Bishop, Derek Drouin and Phylicia George. Note that Canada will not have a marathoner in either the men’s or women’s open division. Rather than specific standards, athletes were chosen based on their performances against the fifth-ranked Commonwealth athlete in their respective event(s). (Olympian Andrea Seccafien breaks down the selection process here.)

Sage Watson
Photo: Michael Doyle.

Athletics Canada notes that “all nominations are subject to the approval of Commonwealth Games Canada and pending any successful appeals during the seven-day period following the unofficial team announcement.”


Name Hometown Club affiliation Coach Event(s)
Mohammed Ahmed* St. Catharines, Ont. Niagara Olympic Club Jerry Schumacher Men’s 5000-metres
Shawnacy Barber** Toronto Project Athletics Jeff Hartwig Men’s pole vault
Aaron Brown* Toronto Phoenix Athletics Dennis Mitchell Men’s 200-metres
Men’s 4 x 100-metre relay
Rachel Cliff Vancouver Unattached Richard Lee Women’s 10,000-metres
Brittany Crew Toronto SISU Throws Club Richard Parkinson Women’s shot put
Andre De Grasse* Markham, Ont. The Speed Academy Athletics Club Stuart McMillan Men’s 200-metres
Men’s 4 x 100-metre relay
Evan Dunfee Richmond, B.C. Racewalk West Gerald Dragomir Men’s 20 km race walk
Sam Effah Calgary University of Calgary Athletics Club Desai Williams Men’s 4 x 100-metre relay
Crystal Emmanuel* Toronto Flying Angels Charles Allen Women’s 200-metres
Sultana Frizell** Perth, Ont. Ottawa Lions Track & Field Club Sheldan Gmitroski Women’s hammer throw
Elizabeth Gleadle* Vancouver Vancouver Thunderbirds Laurier Primeau Women’s javelin throw
Matthew Hughes* Oshawa, Ont. Newmarket Huskies Jerry Schumacher Men’s 3000-metres steeplechase
Adam Keenan Victoria Kamloops Track and Field Club Anatoliy Bondarchuk Men’s hammer throw
Geneviève Lalonde Moncton, N.B. Speed River Dave Scott-Thomas Women’s 3000-metres steeplechase
Pierce LePage Whitby, Ont. Unattached Gregory Portnoy Men’s decathlon
Django Lovett Surrey, B.C. Valley Royals Track & Field Club Zbigniew Szelagowicz Men’s high jump
Michael Mason** Nanoose Bay, B.C. Nanaimo Track and Field Club Jeff Huntoon Men’s high jump
Brandon McBride* Windsor, Ont. Windsor Legion Chris Scarrow Men’s 800-metres
Tim Nedow** Brockville, Ont. Ottawa Lions Track & Field Club Richard Parkinson Men’s shot put
Christabel Nettey** Surrey, B.C. Unattached Jeremy Fischer Women’s long jump
Anicka Newell Saskatoon Project Athletics Cameron Meyer Women’s pole vault
Alysha Newman** London, Ont. Bolton Pole Vault Doug Wood Women’s pole vault
Nicole Oudenaarden St. Albert, Alta. University of Calgary Athletics Club Les Gramantik Women’s heptathlon
Brendon Rodney Brampton, Ont. HEAT Athletics Simon Hodnett Men’s 4 x 100-metre relay
Nina Schultz New Westminster, B.C. New West Spartans Track and Field Club Cliff Rovelto Women’s heptathlon
Gavin Smellie Brampton, Ont. Flying Angels Desai Williams Men’s 4 x 100-metre relay
Gabriela Stafford Toronto University of Toronto Track and Field Club Terry Radchenko Women’s 1500-metres
Taylor Stewart London, Ont. London Western Vickie Croley Men’s decathlon
Taryn Suttie Hanley, Sask. Unattached Justin Rodhe Women’s shot put
Deryk Theodore Edmonton Edmonton International Track Club Mark Cocks Men’s pole vault
Benjamin Thorne Kitimat, B.C. Racewalk West Gerald Dragomir Men’s 20 km race walk
Alyxandria Treasure Prince George, B.C. Prince George Track & Field Club Cliff Rovelto Women’s high jump
Damian Warner** London, Ont. London Western Les Gramantik Men’s decathlon
Sage Watson Medicine Hat, Alta. Unattached Fredrick Harvey Women’s 400-metre hurdles
Jillian Weir Kingston, Ont. Unattached Zeb Sion Women’s hammer throw
Angela Whyte** Edmonton APEX Athletics Club Jeff Huntoon Women’s heptathlon
Natasha Wodak North Vancouver, B.C. Prairie Inn Harriers Running Club Lynn Kanuka Women’s 10,000-metres
Name Hometown Club affiliation Coach Event(s)
David Bambrick Wolfville, N.S. Launchers Athletics Steve Wohlmuth Men’s shot put F37
Alexandre Dupont** Clarenceville, Que. Club d’Athlétisme Saint-Laurent Sélect Rick Reelie Men’s 1500-metre T54
Men’s marathon T54
Jessica Frotten Whitehorse Cyclones Road and Track Club Rick Reelie Women’s 1500-metres T54
Adam Johnson Toronto I Be Fast Track Club Craig Blackman Guide
George Quarcoo Scarborough, Ont. I Be Fast Track Club Craig Blackman Men’s 100-metres T12
Diane Roy** Sherbrooke, Que. Club Athlétisme de Sherbrooke Jean Laroche Women’s marathon T54
Women’s 1500-metres T54
Tristan Smyth Maple Ridge, B.C. BC Wheelchair Sports Jenn Schutz Men’s 1500-metres T54
Kevin Strybosch London, Ont. London Western John Allan Men’s shot put F37
Kyle Whitehouse St. Catharines, Ont. Niagara Regional Athletics Sue Bartol Men’s 100-metres T38
Name Hometown Role
Glenroy Gilbert Ottawa Head coach 
Simon Nathan Ottawa Team leader
Jared MacLeod Winnipeg Team manager
Jessica Scarlato Richmond Hill, Ont. Team manager
Ingrid Ruys Sherwood Park, Alta. Team manager – out of village
Charles Allen Toronto Team coach 
Dave Scott-Thomas Guelph Team coach
Doug Wood London, Ont. Team coach
Jeff Huntoon Toronto Team coach
Richard Parkinson Stouffville, Ont. Team coach
Larry Steinke Lethbridge, Alta. Team coach
Les Gramantik Calgary Team coach
Rick Reelie Saskatoon Team coach
Dr. Padraig McCluskey Victoria Team physician
Andrea Stephen Toronto Team physiotherapist
Dr. John Vargo Sarnia, Ont. Team chiropractor
Danielle Chow-Leong Toronto Team massage therapist
Eric Corda Sarnia, Ont. Team massage therapist
Dr. Penny Werthner Calgary Team mental performance
Dana Way Winnipeg Beach, Man. Team biomechanist 
Amanda Nigh Uxbridge, Ont. Media attaché

*Member of the 2014 Commonwealth Games team
**Denotes a podium finish in 2014