Home > Runs & Races

Canada announces Paralympic team for Tokyo 2020

Athletics Canada and the Canadian Paralympic Committee announced today that 16 athletes will compete at the Paralympics in Tokyo, which start on Aug. 24 (seven women and nine men).

RELATED: Canadians Brent Lakatos and Nate Riech post dominant results ahead of Tokyo Paralympics

Half of the athletes have competed at previous Paralympics, among them wheelchair racer Brent Lakatos (who, at 41, is the veteran of the group and has four Paralympics under his belt) and T64 blade runner Marissa Papaconstantinou. The other half, including para world champion and world record holder in the T38 1,500m Nate Riech, are first-timers. Lakatos and T37 5,000m world record holder Liam Stanley both medalled in their events in Rio in 2016.

Nate Riech. Photo: Instagram/nategraywolf

Here is the full list of athletes (includes field events):

Charlotte Bolton – Tillsonburg, Ont. – shot put, discus (F41)
Jennifer Brown – Calgary – discus (F38)
Renee Foessel – Orangeville, Ont. – discus (F38)
Jessica Frotten – Whitehorse – 100 metres, 400 metres, 800 metres, 1,500 metres, 5,000 metres, 4×100-metre universal relay (T53)
Zachary Gingras – Markham, Ont. – 400 metres, 4×100-metre universal relay (T38)
Austin Ingram – Petawawa, Ont. – 100 metres, 4x100m-metre universal relay (T13)
Brent Lakatos – Dorval, Que. – 100 metres, 400 metres, 800 metres, 1,500 metres, 5,000 metres, marathon (T53)

Sarah Mickey – Redcliff, Alta. – discus (F55)
Thomas Normandeau – Peace River, Alta. – 400 metres (T47)
Guillaume Ouellet – Victoriaville, Que. – 5,000 metres (T13)
Marissa Papaconstantinou – Toronto – 100 metres, 200 metres, 4×100-metre universal relay (T64)
Nate Riech – Victoria – 1,500 metres (T38)
Austin Smeenk – Oakville, Ont. – 100 metres, 800 metres (T34)
Liam Stanley – Victoria – 1,500 metres (T37)
Greg Stewart – Kamloops, B.C. – shot put (F46)
Amy Watt – Victoria – long jump (T47)

RELATED: 5,000m world record ratified for Victoria’s Liam Stanley