CCAA Championships
Photo: CCAA.

It was a busy weekend for post-secondary cross-country runners as the Canadian college (CCAA) championships were run Saturday as were the Canadian university (CIS) championships. Saturday’s CCAA Cross-Country Championships were held in northern Ontario at Sault Ste. Marie’s Crimson Ridge Golf Course.

Jessy Lacourse of Cegep Garneau (Quebec City) successfully defended her 2015 collegiate cross-country national title in the women’s 5K. She set a new course record of 18:11. Lacourse has represented Canada internationally including at the 2014 World Junior Track and Field Championships in Eugene, Ore.

RELATED: CIS men’s recap, CIS women’s recap.

Ontario champion and Cambrian College (Sudbury, Ont.) athlete Mary Strain was second in 18:24 and Jade Berube of College Lionel-Groulx (Sainte-Thérèse, Que.) was third in 18:39. UBC Okanagan (Kelowna, B.C.) won the women’s team championship.

CCAA Championships
Photo: CCAA.

In the men’s race, Fanshawe College’s (London, Ont.) Seth Marcaccio upgraded his 2015 silver medal at the national championships to gold on Saturday. The 21-year-old led from start to finish covering 8K in 25:39. William Chemno of Centennial College (Toronto) and Cegep de Sherbrooke’s Felix Lapointe-Pilote was third in 25:59 and 26:01.

Marcaccio won the Ontario cross-country collegiate title two weekends ago in King City, Ont. Cegep du Sherbrooke won the CCAA men’s team championship on Saturday at the event hosted by Sault College.



Women’s All Canadians

Jessy Lacourse – Cegep Garneau (RSEQ)
Mary Strain – Cambrian College (OCAA)
Jade Berube – College Lionel-Groulx (RSEQ)
Veronika Fagan – UBC-Okanagan (Pacwest)
Rachel McKenzie – Lethbridge College (ACAC)
Jordanna Cota – Red Deer College (ACAC)
Marianne Houle – Cegep de Trois-Rivieres (RSEQ)
Emily Spencer – Lethbridge College (ACAC)
Elodie De Coene – College Montmorency (RSEQ)
Kaitlin Shuvera – Humber College (OCAA)

Men’s All Canadians

Seth Marcaccio – Fanshawe College (OCAA)
William Chemno – Centennial College (OCAA)
Felix Lapointe-Pilote – Cegep du Sherbrooke (RSEQ)
Jacob Smith – Conestoga College (OCAA)
Kevin Robertson – Cegep Andre-Laurendeau (RSEQ)
Rob Asselstine – St. Lawrence College Kingston (OCAA)
Emmanuel Champagne – College Lionel Groulx (RSEQ)
Perry MacKinnon – Cegep du Sherbrooke (RSEQ)
Riley Olesky – Fleming College (OCAA)
Jacques Saayman – Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (ACAC)

With files from the CCAA.

Report error or omission


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *