Crystal Emmanuel of Scarborough, Ont. has advanced to Thursday’s final in the women’s 200m at the Commonwealth Games on Australia’s Gold Coast. The gun goes off at 7:38 a.m. EDT (4:38 a.m. PDT). Viewers can watch on DAZN.

RELATED: Crystal Emmanuel runs 22.50 for 200m, takes down 34-year-old Canadian record

Emmanuel had the fastest time in all five preliminaries (22.72), and won her semifinal heat with a time of 22.87. Her PB is 22.50.

Among those she will face in the final are England’s Dina Asher-Smith, Shericka Jackson and Elaine Thompson (who won gold in the 100m in Rio) of Jamaica, and Shaunae Miller-Uibo of the Bahamas.

Asher-Smith took fourth place at last year’s world championships after recovering from a broken foot. Miller-Uibo famously dove across the finish line to win the 400m in Rio in 2016, but was fifth at the world championships last year.

Toronto’s Aaron Brown ran the fastest semifinal in the history of the Commonwealth Games (20.18 seconds). Brown was on the 4x100m relay that moved up from fourth place to win bronze in Rio after the U.S. team’s disqualification. Brown also has two world championship bronze medals in the 4x100m relay.

The men’s 200m final follows the women’s race on Thursday at 7:56 a.m. EDT (4:56 a.m. PDT).

Report error or omission

Related

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *