Home > Runs & Races

DeBues-Stafford and Seccafien advance in their events

It's Day 6 in Doha, with Canadians competing in numerous events including the women's 1,500 preliminaries, the women's 5,000m heats, and the decathlon

Canadian Track Championships

Gabriela DeBues-Stafford has easily advanced to tomorrow’s semifinal in the women’s 1,500m, finishing second in her heat today in Doha. The first six finishers in each heat went through, plus six non-automatic qualifiers. Those advancing to the semis include also DeBues-Stafford’s training partner, Laura Muir, Sifan Hassan (who won the gold medal in the 10,000m), Faith Kipyegon, and Americans Nikki Hiltz, Jenny Simpson and Shelby Houlihan.

RELATED: Andre De Grasse earns his second medal at World Championships 

Photo: Daniel.tnf

All eyes were on Hassan, who immediately settled in the very last position in the first heat, to see if she showed any signs of fatigue after her incredible 10,000m win on Saturday. Not surprisingly, she moved steadily up when she needed to, finishing first in her heat and fastest overall, in 4:03.88.

It was also the first time we’ve seen Muir since she injured her calf at a Diamond League meet earlier this summer, and stopped racing in order not to jeopardize her chances in Doha. Muir looked fine, finishing third in her heat, just behind DeBues-Stafford, in 4:07.28.

Decathlete Pierce LePage

Canadian Pierce LePage leads the men’s decathlon after two events (the 100m and the long jump), with 2,015 points. Damian Warner is in second place, with 1,988 points.


In the women’s 5,000m heats, Canadians Andrea Seccafien ran a new PB of 15:04.67 to advance to the final, which goes Saturday at 2:25 p.m. ET. Rachel Cliff did not advance.

RELATED: Mohammed Ahmed wins 5,000m bronze at World Championships

Canada has won four medals so far in Doha: bronze and silver for Andre De Grasse in the 100m and 200m, bronze for Evan Dunfee in the 50K race walk, and bronze for Moh Ahmed in the 5,000m.

The women’s 1,500m semifinal goes tomorrow at 4:00 p.m. ET.