Home > Runs & Races

How to watch the 2019 Berlin Marathon

Everything you need to know about Sunday's Berlin Marathon

2013 Berlin Marathon

Sunday morning is the 2019 Berlin Marathon, one of the most historic and prestigious races in the world. This Sunday’s race will see Ethiopian Kenenisa Bekele and Kenya’s Gladys Cherono look to reclaim their titles. Both runners are past champions and Cherono has her eye on the win along with a new women’s course record.

Dennis Kimetto

RELATED: Krista DuChene is running Berlin after one of her best builds yet

Due to the World Championships and the upcoming Canadian Olympic Marathon Trials at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon, Berlin has fewer Canadian elites than usual. However, Krista DuChene made the trip and says she’s coming off of one of her strongest builds yet.

Berlin in a very fast course. At the 2018 race, Eliud Kipchoge broke the world record, Lyndsay Tessier broke the Canadian master’s marathon record and several other Canadian women ran huge personal bests.


The men’s race is going to be a battle between three runners: Bekele, who has the strongest personal best but has struggled in 2019, Leul Gebreslaissie also of Ethiopia who ran his personal best last year in Dubai and Birhanu Legese, who doesn’t have the fastest personal best but he’s most recently won a World Major, taking the title in Tokyo earlier this year.

In the women’s race, Cherono is easily the favourite to win. The Kenyan will be chased by Ethiopians Mare Dibaba who was third at the Olympic Marathon in Rio and Meseret Defar who was a double Olympic 5,000m champion and certainly has the potential to run much faster than her current personal best of 2:23.

The Elite Lists


Kenenisa Bekele ETH 2:03:03
Leul Gebrselassie ETH 2:04:02
Sisay Lemma ETH 2:04:08
Birhanu Legese ETH 2:04:15
Felix Kandie KEN 2:06:03
Jonathan Korir KEN 2:06:51
Yohanes Gebregergish ERI 2:08:14
Kenta Murayama JPN 2:09:50
Kennedy Naibei KEN 2:09:54
Shogo Kanezane JPN 2:10:19
Willy Ngelel KEN 2:10:31
Scott Overall GBR 2:10:55
Liam Adams AUS 2:11:36
Guojian Dong CHN 2:11:42
Matt Llano USA 2:12:28
Yuichi Yasui JPN 2:12:39
Keisuke Kusaka JPN 2:12:42
Philipp Pflieger GER 2:12:50
Florent Caelen BEL 2:12:51
Valentin Pfeil AUT 2:12:55
Jonathan Mellor GBR 2:12:57
Abel Kipchumba KEN Debut
Bethwel Yegon KEN Debut
Haron Lagat USA Debut

Cherono winning the Berlin Marathon.


Gladys Cherono KEN 2:18:11
Mare Dibaba ETH 2:19:52
Haftamnesh Tesfay ETH 2:20:13
Helen Tola ETH 2:21:01
Ashete Bekere ETH 2:21:14
Sally Chepyego KEN 2:23:15
Meseret Defar ETH 2:23:33
Rahma Tusa ETH 2:23:46
Zhixuan Li CHN 2:26:15
Sara Hall USA 2:26:20
Anna Hahner GER 2:26:44
Andrea Deelstra NED 2:26:46
Maja Neuenschwander SUI 2:26:49
Sally Kipyego USA 2:28:01
Martina Strähl SUI 2:28:07
Krista Duchene CAN 2:28:32
Adriana Nelson USA 2:28:52
Virginia Moloney AUS 2:29:14
Nina Lauwaert BEL 2:30:24
Tracy Barlow GBR 2:30:42
Samantha Bluske USA 2:31:55
Dawa Jila CHN 2:31:55
Marisa Casanueva ESP 2:32:22
Melat Kejeta GER Debut

The live results

The live results can be found here. The 2018 marks are currently listed but that will change come Sunday as new results start to roll in.

The live stream

The CBC media player is bringing you all of the action from the marathon. Catch the event starting at 3:00 a.m. EDT on Sunday morning.

RELATED: Everything you need to know about the World Championships