Home > Runs & Races

McBride bested by Arop in 800m upset on final day of ACTF competition

Victory all the sweeter for being unexpected for the still-teenaged Arop

In a big upset in the senior men’s 800m race today, the final day of the Athletics Canada Track and Field Championships in Ottawa, defending champion Brandon McBride allowed Marco Arop to take an early lead, and was unable to regain it. Arop, who is only 19, hung on for the win, with a time of 1:46.15. McBride finished second, in 1:46.42, with Robert Heppenstall third, in 1:49.68.

RELATED: Brown and Emmanuel pull off double 100m and 200m victories at ACTF 2018

In a short interview with Athletics Canada after the race, Arop was humble about the win, saying “I’ve always looked up to Brandon. He let me go ahead, and I just went with it.”

In the women’s race, B.C.’s Lindsey Butterworth took an early lead and held on for the win. Her time was 2:00.87, a new personal best for Butterworth. Calgary’s Jenna Westaway took second, in 2:01.61, and Maïté Bouchard of Sherbrooke, Que. was third, in 2:01.94.


The meet record and national record for this event are both held by Olympian Melissa Bishop, who gave birth to her first baby less than a week ago and is not competing this season.

RELATED: It’s a girl! Melissa Bishop-Nriagu’s baby born July 2

Lindsey Butterworth leading the senior women's 1,500m at ACTF 2018

In the women’s 1,500m, it was Olympian and defending champion Gabriela Stafford of the University of Toronto in 4:17.08. Stafford led for the entire final 400m of the race. Nicole Sifuentes was second, in 4:17.71, and Katelyn Ayers third in 4:18.59. 

Similarly in the men’s race, Charles Philibert-Thiboutot of Université Laval successfully defended his title over B.C.’s Thomas Riva (3:46.94) and Corey Bellemore of the University of Windsor (3:47.11).

Charles Philibert-Thiboutot wins 1,500m over Thomas Riva at ACTF 2018

In the women’s 400m hurdles, Noelle Montcalm was victorious, with a time of 56.69 seconds, followed by Sarah Wells in second place (57.98) and Taysia Radoslav in third (58.99).

In the men’s 400m hurdles, Malik Metivier is the new champion, with a time of 51.12 seconds. Saj Alhaddad was second, in 51.50 and Gabriel Slythe-Léveillé third, in 52.07.

In the women’s 4x100m relay, it was the Ottawa Lions TFC ‘A’, in first, with a time of 48.10 seconds. Second was the Hamilton Olympic Club, in 49.87, and Ottawa Lions ‘B’ third, with a time of 51.51.

In the men’s 4x100m relay, it was York University in first (43.61 seconds). Two other teams were disqualified.