Home > Runs & Races

Four course records fall at Peachtree 10K

The winner of the men's race ran 27:01, the fastest 10K time ever run on American soil

It’s amazing to see the effect of a $50,000 bonus on the outcome of a race. Course records in all four divisions came down today despite the very warm weather in Atlanta for the 50th running of the annual 4th of July AJC Peachtree Road Race, and Rhonex Kipruto’s winning time of 27:01 is the fastest 10K time ever recorded on American soil. The four division winners each pocketed a $50,000 bonus to add to their $8,000 payday, for breaking the course records on the race’s 50th anniversary.

Kipruto, 19, of Kenya, is the 2018 U20 world champion in the 10,000m. His time beat Joseph Kimani’s 1996 course record by three seconds, on a toasty 34 C morning.

Brigid Kosgei, winner of the 2019 London Marathon and 2018 Chicago Marathon, took down Lornah Kiplagat’s 2008 course record by 10 seconds, winning in 30:22 after a fierce back-and-forth battle with Agnes Tirop and Fancy Chemutai, who eventually finished second and third, Tirop achieving the same time as Kosgei despite reaching the tape a hair later, and Chemutai in 30:32 (Kiplagat’s record time).

RELATED: Kosgei takes London, defending champ Cheruiyot second

Kipruto’s brother, Bravin Kiptoo, finished second in the men’s race, in 27:31, the fourth-fastest performance ever at this race. Kennedy Kimutai was third, in 27:56. Top Americans were Colin Bennie (29:12 for eighth place) and Emily Sisson (in 32:02 for seventh, in her first race since her amazing marathon debut in London).

Wheelchair racers Manuela Schar, Tatyana McFadden and Susannah Scaroni battled from start to finish, with Schar (the 2013 winner) eventually smashing the course record of 22:09.97 set by Edith Hunkeler in 2009 by almost 42 seconds (Schar’s winning time was 21:28). McFadden, who has won this race seven times, followed Schar one second later for second place (21:29), and defending champion Scaroni finished another second after that, in 21:30. (All three finished well under the previous record.)

RELATED: Manuela Schär sweeps Abbott World Major Marathons

American T54 wheelchair racer Daniel Romanchuk, who has had a string of marathon wins over the past several months, won the wheelchair division in dominant fashion for the third straight time, breaking Saul Mendoza’s 2004 course record of 18:38 by 27 seconds, in 18:11. Romanchuk was followed 20 seconds later by Swiss racer Marcel Hug in second place (18:31) and Canada’s Josh Cassidy in third (19:32).

With an astonishing 60,000+ participants, the Peachtree is the world’s largest 10K. This year saw 60,780 registrants.