Home > The Scene

Athletics Canada announces U-20 World Championship team

Eleven U-20 athletes will be making their international debut for team Canada in Kenya

Commonwealth Youth Games

On Tuesday, Athletics Canada announced the 15-member team they will be sending to represent Canada at the upcoming 2021 World Athletics U20 Championships in Nairobi, Kenya from Aug. 17-22. This team is made up of eight men and seven women who have successfully achieved the U-20 World Athletics standard. Eleven of the 15 athletes selected will be representing Canada for the first time. 


Toronto native and Wisconsin Badger Abdullahi Hassan ranks within the top 10 of World Athletics U20 rankings over the 800m. Hassan has had a fantastic track and field season, qualifying for and finishing 12th at the NCAA Track & Field Championships as a true freshman. Last weekend, Hassan completed at the final stop on the Sound Running Sunset Tour, winning the men’s elite 800m in a time of 1:46.16, the eighth fastest time run in the world this year for men under 20.

There was some late drama in the qualification for the two 800m spots on the U20 World Championship team for Canada. Athletics Ontario hosted their U-20 Championships over the weekend where 17-year old phenom Micaiah Ellis ran a personal best of 1:50.47, under the World Athletics standard of 1:50.80. Later that evening at the BC Endurance Challenge in Victoria, Matti Erickson of Kootenay track Club, ran 1:50.11, taking the last spot on Canada’s U20 from Ellis. 

RELATED: Canadian Pan Am U20 and NACAC U18/U23 teams named

The U20 World Athletics Championships have always been a great opportunity for young Canadian athletes looking to pursue their goals competing internationally. These championships are a stepping stone toward qualifying and medalling at future World Championships and Olympic Games. 

U20 Worlds Team (information via Athletics Canada)


  • Heather Abadie (Port Elgin, Ont.) – Women’s pole vault
  • Ella Clayton (Calgary, Alta.) – Women’s 400 metres
  • Matti Erickson (Nelson, B.C.) – Men’s 800 metres
  • Isabella (Izzy) Goudros (Toronto, Ont.) – Women’s 100 metres and 200 metres
  • Aiden Grout (Pitt Meadows, B.C.) – Men’s high jump
  • Abdullahi Hassan (Scarborough, Ont.) – Men’s 800 metres
  • Sydney Juszczyk (Kingsville, Ont.) – Women’s javelin throw
  • Ethan Katzberg (Nanaimo, B.C.) – Men’s hammer throw
  • Avery Pearson (Meadow Lake, Sask.) – Women’s 800 metres
  • Michael Roth (St. Thomas, Ont.) – Men’s 200 metres and 400 metres
  • Callan Saldutto (Welland, Ont.) – Men’s javelin throw
  • Eniko Sara (Langley, B.C.) – Women’s javelin throw
  • Almond Small (Toronto, Ont.) – Men’s 100 metres and 200 metres