Home > The Scene

IAAF announces male and female World Athlete of the Year nominations

Who will you vote for?

The nominations for 2019 IAAF World Athlete of the Year, announced earlier this week, read like a Who’s Who of running, and include a number of newly-minted world champions as well as Brigid Kosgei, who broke Paula Radcliffe’s world marathon record at last Sunday’s Chicago Marathon, and Eliud Kipchoge, who ran faster over 42.2K than any human before him, the previous day in Vienna.


Now begins a three-way voting process between the IAAF Council (50 per cent), the IAAF Family (25 per cent) and fans (25 per cent–fans can vote online via the IAAF’s social media platforms until November 5). The IAAF will announce five finalists in each of the male and female categories sometime after public voting closes on November 5. The winners will be announced live on stage at the World Athletics Awards 2019 in Monaco on Saturday, November 23.

Female World Athlete of the Year nominations

The runners nominated, in no particular order:

Brigid Kosgei of Kenya, who took more than a minute off Paula Radcliffe’s marathon world record, set at 2:15:25 16 years ago, at the Chicago Marathon last weekend, running 2:14:04. Kosgei also won this year’s London Marathon and set a world-leading half-marathon time of 1:05:28.

RELATED: Kipchoge voted 2018 IAAF Male Athlete of the Year

Sifan Hassan of the Netherlands, winner of both the 10,000m and 1,500m races in Doha in world-leading times of 30:17.62 and 3:51.95, after earlier breaking the mile world record in 4:12.33. Hassan is the first person (man or woman) to successfully complete the 10,000m/1,500m double at the Olympic or World Championship level. She also won the 1,500m and 5,000m Diamond League titles.


Dalilah Muhammad of the US, who broke the world record in the 400m hurdles in 52.20 at the US Championships, then broke her own record at Doha in 52.16. She also won the 4×400 relay title

Hellen Obiri of Kenya, winner of the World Cross-Country Championships and the world 5,000m title in Doha in a championship record of 14:26.72. At the London Diamond League earlier this season she ran a world-leading 14:20.36.


RELATED: Kosgei and Farah ran the same pace for part of Chicago Marathon

Beatrice Chepkoech of Kenya, who won gold at Doha in the 3,000m steeplechase in a championship record of 8:57.84 as well as the Diamond League title

Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce of Jamaica, winner of both the 100m (in a world-leading 10.71) and 4x100m (in a world-leading 41.44) titles at Doha

Katarina Johnson-Thompson of the UK, who won gold in the heptathlon at Doha with a world-leading 6,981 points and was undefeated in all multi-event competitions, indoors and outdoors

Salwa Eid Naser of Bahrain, who won the world 400m title in 48.14, the third-fastest time ever run, as well as the Diamond League title


Jumpers Mariya Lasitskene (Authorized Neutral Athlete), Malaika Mihambo of Germany and Yulimar Rojas of Venezuela were also nominated.

Male World Athlete of the Year nominations

In no particular order, the male runners nominated are:

Eliud Kipchoge, who recently stunned the world with his 1:59:40 marathon at the INEOS 1:59 Challenge in Vienna. Kipchoge also won this year’s London Marathon in a course-record-setting 2:02:37. He was voted Male Athlete of the Year for 2018.

Timothy Cheruiyot of Kenya, who won the 1,500m title in Doha as well as the Diamond League title

Donovan Brazier of the US, who won the world 800m title in a world-leading time of 1:42.34, as well as the Diamond League title

Christian Coleman of the US, who won the world 100m title in a world-leading 9.76 and the world 4x100m title in a world-leading 37.10


RELATED: Eliud Kipchoge runs the fastest marathon in history, 1:59:40

Joshua Cheptegei of Kenya, who won the World Cross-Country Championships in Denmark in the spring, as well as the 10,000m title in Doha in a world-leading 26:48.36

Noah Lyles of the US, who won the world 200m and 4x100m titles in Doha and both 100m and 200m Diamond League titles (the first man in history to do so in the same season)


Karsten Warholm of Norway, who won the world 400m hurdles title, the Diamond League final and the European Indoor Championships

Steven Gardiner of the Bahamas, who won the world 400m title and was undefeated at the distance in 2019

Field event competitors Sam Kendricks and Christian Taylor of the US and Daniel Stahl of Sweden are also nominated.