The Wanamaker Mile, an annual event at the Millrose Games in New York City, is arguably the most coveted prize in indoor track and field. It’s only appropriate that the trophy is as extravagant as the runner’s the race attracts.

For us Canadians or those familiar with professional hockey, the trophy is quite similar to the Stanley Cup, the championship trophy for the winner of the National Hockey League playoffs.

RELATED: Canadian Mo Ahmed breaks nine-year-old national indoor 3,000m record.

American distance runners won both the men’s and women’s race. Matt Centrowitz won the men’s Wanamaker Mile in 3:50.63, the fourth fastest time ever indoors, and Shannon Rowbury won the women’s Wanamaker Mile in 4:24.39.

RELATED: Canadian Andre De Grasse wins pro debut in the 60m at Millrose Games.

The Wanamaker Mile is prestigious because of its past champions, including Olympians and world record holders, as well as its notoriety as being an Irish running tradition (many Irish athletes have won the race). The Wanamaker Mile was first held in 1926 and is named after New York City department store owner Rodman Wanamaker.

Erin Teschuk, a Winnipeg native attending North Dakota State University (NDSU), was the lone Canadian in either race finishing 12th in the women’s event. She ran the third fastest mile of her career (4:34.58), according to the NDSU release.

Video: Full men’s race

Video: Full women’s race

A full display of the hardware can be found below:

Giving away some serious hardware at #nyrrmillrosegames. What races are you excited to see on TV?

A photo posted by USATF (@usatf) on


Leave a Reply