Camel City

Fiona Benson, Brianne Theisen-Eaton and Melissa Bishop among Canadians in action on Saturday.

A pair of silver medallists from the IAAF World Championships in 2015 are in action this Saturday at the Camel City Elite competition in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Melissa Bishop, the Canadian record holder and world champs medallist in the 800m, will be competing in her marquee event at the JDL Fast Track facility. Bishop began her Olympic year competing at the Cam Am Classic in Windsor, Ont. on Jan. 9. The Eganville, Ont. native has been training in Florida for the past 10 days.

RELATED: Our Golden Shoe Awards: Performance of the Year — Melissa Bishop’s Silver Medal Run.

Brianne Theisen-Eaton, the silver medallist in the women’s heptathlon this summer in Beijing, will be competing in the women’s 60m hurdles, an event also featuring American Lolo Jones.

RELATED: Ashton Eaton accepts stair-jump challenge and crushes it.

A third world championship qualifier in Fiona Benson is in the women’s mile, toeing the line next to Shannon Rowbury, the defending champion in the event (see below).

RELATED: Three Canadians announced for January’s Camel City Elite races.

Canadian collegiates Elizabeth Whelan, a University of North Carolina Tar Heel, and Robert Heppenstall of Wake Forest are also expected to compete on the weekend.

Schedule (events with Canadians in bold)

2:15 pm -– Women’s 3,000m
2:35 pm –- Men’s 3,000m presented by Salem Sports
2:50 pm –- 60m Dash Finals
3:00 pm –- Women’s 800m
3:10 pm –- Men’s 800m presented by Total Sports US
3:20 pm –- Women’s 60m Hurdles presented by Champion
3:30 pm –- Men’s 60m Hurdles presented by Visit Winston-Salem
3:40 pm –- Women’s Mellow Mile presented by Mellow Mushroom
3:50 pm –- Men’s Camel City Mile presented by Champion

Women’s Mile

Fiona Benson – Nike
Stephanie Garcia – New Balance
Lauren Johnson – USA
Heather Kampf – Asics/Team USA MN
Shannon Rowbury – Nike Oregon Project
Melissa Salerno – Asics
Heidi See – Asics Furman Elite
Shannon Morton – Virginia Tech
Megan Moye – NC State
Kate Murphy – High School unattached

Women’s 60m Hurdles

Kristi Castlin – CieraInc
Lolo Jones – Asics
Brianna Rollins – Nike
Brianne Theisen-Eaton – Nike OTC Elite
Anna Cockrell – High School unattached

Women’s 800m

Melissa Bishop – Nike
Abby Farley – Bull City Running
Laura Roesler – Nike
LaTavia Thomas – Unattached
Phoebe Wright – Nike
Anima Banks – Duke
Hanna Green – Virginia Tech
Hannah Segrave – Milligan
Elizabeth Whelan – North Carolina

Men’s 800m

Donnie Cowart – Saucony
Brandon Johnson – Nike
Cas Loxsom – Brooks Beasts
Ryan Martin – Asics
Robert Heppenstall – Wake Forest
Immanuel Hutchinson – St. Augustine’s
Patrick Joseph – Virginia Tech
Eliud Rutto – Middle Tennessee State


Leave a Reply