Home > Trail Running

Karl Augsten and Emily Setlack win Canadian Mountain Running Championships

This year's Canadian Mountain Running Championships took place at the Kicking Horse Resort in Golden, B.C. yesterday.


This year’s Canadian Mountain Running Championships took place at the Kicking Horse Resort in Golden, B.C. yesterday. 

The open event is a 10K course, which is actually 10.3K and involves 1,205m of elevation and 135m of descent, with a mix of singletrack and doubletrack. Junior and master’s level runners (age 40+, in four age categories) run the 5K course. Poles are not permitted.


This event is not to be confused with the Canadian Long Distance Mountain Running Championships, which involves a longer course (50K). What distinguishes mountain running from trail running is minimum elevation change. (Both trail running and mountain running may involve courses of various lengths.)

Bear spray is not discouraged on the course. 

RELATED: XTrail Sutton winners headed to B.C. for Canadian Mountain Running Championships


The men’s overall title went to Karl Augsten who crossed the finish line in 1:09:53. Second place when to Matthew Travaglini who finished in 1:10:14, and third to Gareth Hadfield in 1:10:51. 


In the women’s overall results, Emily Setlack won handily in 1:16:49. Setlack is no stranger to distance running as she was 86th at the World Half-Marathon Championships this past March. 

RELATED: Top Canadian results from the 2018 IAAF World Half-Marathon Championships

Emma Cook-Clarke was second in a time of 1:19:16. Cook-Clarke was the 2016 CIS Cross-Country Champion where she competed for the University of Calgary Dinos. 

Karissa LePage was third in a time of 1:24:08. LePage is also a former CIS runner who ran for the University of Regina. 

In the junior men’s results, Stephane Tremblay came out on top with a time of 42:29.30. Second place went to Ross Henderson in a time of 42:46.40, Henderson is a strong cross-country runner and track runner, having competed for several years at the youth national level. 

Third place went to Nicolas Courtois in a time of 44:28.30. 


In junior women’s competition, Amanda Ungar was in the winner in 53:30.70, followed by Erica Navarro in 1:14.70. 

In master’s men’s 5K results, Alain Tremblay won in 44:19.60, Craig Cyr was second in 44:16.30, and Douglas Henderson was third in 47:57.80. 

In the women’s 5K results, Anna Martin was first in 54:53.30, Natalie Wright second in 58:01.60 and Carrie Corsiatto third in 1:01:14.90. 

In the open categories there was $600 in prize money up for grabs between the top three finishers.