Canada names team for 2016 IAAF World Half-Marathon Championships

The IAAF World Half-Marathon Championships are right around the corner. Who is going to be running for Canada?

The Canadian team for the world half-marathon championships has been announced by Athletics Canada. This year’s championship race in going to be held in Cardiff, Wales on March 26.

Heading to Wales this year will be a team of six male and female athletes who will race the half-marathon representing Canada. At the women’s start line will be Lanni Marchant, Laura Batterink and Tarah Korir. Both Marchant and Korir have been spending time training in Kenya this winter. Korir, a St. Clement’s, Ont. native is married to Wesley Korir and lives in Kenya. The March 26 IAAF event will be the first time that Batterink is representing Canada.

Leading the pack of Canadians on the men’s side is Reid Coolsaet followed by Rob Watson and Brandon Lord. Coolsaet also spent his winter training in Kenya (and documented his training with some lovely Instagram photos, might we say!). Watson is gearing up for the London Marathon in hopes to achieve an Olympic qualifier. Lord is a graduate of the University of Georgia and trains with Rob Watson under the coaching of Watson’s brother, Pete.

Ten women and 11 men reached the qualifying standard. Those were 1:16 for women and 1:06 for men. (See that list below.)

The team is funded in partnership with Athletics Canada’s National 10K, Half-Marathon and Marathon Road Championships in Ottawa, Calgary and Toronto respectively.

In previous years, expenses for the race and travel were individually funded.

Reid Coolsaet – 1:03:37
Robin Watson – 1:03:58
Brandon Lord – 1:04:03
Dylan Wykes – 1:04:14
Thomas Toth – 1:04:28
Sami Jibril – 1:04:30
Trevor Hofbauer – 1:04:30
Evan Esselink – 1:04:52
Kip Kangogo – 1:05:02
Eric Gillis – 1:05:31
Kelly Wiebe – 1:05:48

Natasha Wodak – 1:11:20
Lanni Marchant – 1:12:05
Rachel Hannah – 1:12:25
Sasha Gollish – 1:12:35
Laura Batterink – 1:13:13
Tarah Korir – 1:13:39
Krista DuChene – 1:14:01
Erin Burrett – 1:14:49
Dayna Pidhoresky – 1:15:11
Natasha Labeaud – 1:15:18