Home > Trail Running

Jim Walmsley and Courtney Dauwalter are Ultrarunners of the Year

Walmsley takes UltraRunning Magazine's top honour for the fourth and Dauwalter for the second year in a row

Two-time Western States winner and course record-holder Jim Walmsley, 29, of Flagstaff, Arizona and 2019 UTMB champion Courtney Dauwalter, 34, of Golden, Colorado are your 2019 UltraRunners of the Year, as announced by UltraRunning Magazine today. It’s Walmsley’s fourth time in a row taking the honour and Dauwalter’s second.

In a year in which Walmsley scored four wins, including WSER (where he bettered his own course record), as well as capturing the 50-mile world record, the UltraRunner honour was something of a foregone conclusion. Similarly for Dauwalter, who not only scored three big wins in 2019 (including UTMB in her first appearance there), but she was on her way to winning Western States when forced to withdraw with a bad hip after 80 miles (129K).

RELATED: Jim Walmsley’s insane pre-Olympic Trials training

UltraRunner of the Year #2 through 10

The magazine counted down through the top 10, starting January 6. Here’s the full list:

2. Western States winner Clare Gallagher and 100-mile world record-holder Zach Bitter
3. Western States second-place finisher Jared Hazen and third-place finisher Kaci Lickteig
4. 24-hour world record-holder Camille Herron and 100-mile trail champion Patrick Reagan

5. Tarawera 100-mile winner Jeff Browning and Hurt 100 winner Sabrina Stanley
6. Western States second-place finisher Brittany Peterson and Ruck-a-Chuck 50K winner Tim Tollefson
7. 24-hour World Championship 3rd-place finisher Olivier Leblond and North Face Endurance Challenge winner YiOu Wang

8. North Face Endurance Challenge 3rd-place finisher Addie Bracy and Desert Solstice 100-mile winner Mark Hammond
9. Black Canyon 100K winner Matt Daniels and Logan Peak Trail Run winner Katie Schide
10. Indian Creek 55K winner Amanda Basham and Ushuaia by UTMB winner Jason Schlarb