Mo Ahmed, originally DQed in Olympic 5,000m, has been reinstated

Mo Farah won the men's 5,000m at the Rio Olympics but there were initially three disqualifications that caused controversy.

August 20th, 2016 by | Posted in Rio 2016 | Tags: , , , ,

The men’s 5,000m was full of drama both during the race and afterwards. Mo Farah of Great Britain crossed in first but there were three disqualifications including American Paul Chelimo who finished second. Mo Ahmed, who originally finished fifth, was also disqualified.

RELATED: VIDEO: 400m runner dives across the line to win Olympic gold.

However, Chelimo and Ahmed have been reinstated. Ethiopia’s Muktar Edris is still listed as a DQ. With Edris still off the results page, Ahmed sits in fourth, which is the third such placing that Canada had on Saturday. The women’s 4x400m relay team and Melissa Bishop (800m) finished fourth in their events.

Ahmed’s placing is better than any other Canadian before him in the men’s 5,000m at the Olympics. The 25-year-old ran 13:05.94, just off of his Canadian record. The previous best finish by a Canadian in an Olympic 5,000m was Alex Decoteau in 1908 as he finished eighth.

The early pace was hot in the race as the Ethiopian team tried to make the race fast to take the sting out of Farah’s legs. Generally, when the pace is slow, Farah can outkick anyone in the world so runners are advised to avoid that strategy. Fortunately, for Farah, the pace slowed and he was able to pull off the win.

RELATED: Canadians couldn’t be prouder of Melissa Bishop after fourth-place finish.

The British athlete repeats as both the 5,000m and 10,000m champion from the London Olympics in 2012. He has become one of the most dominant long-distance runners in history. Chelimo, a Kenyan-born America, finished second in a rather surprising result. Hagos Gebrhiwet of Ethiopia finished third.

Race footage

All the DQs were originally for rule 163.3b, which deals with stepping inside the inner line of the track.

Editor’s note: This article has been revised to reflect the latest results.


1 2452 Mohamed FARAH GBRGBR 13:03.30
2 3057 Paul Kipkemoi CHELIMO USAUSA 13:03.90 PB
3 2396 Hagos GEBRHIWET ETHETH 13:04.35
4 2188 Mohammed AHMED CANCAN 13:05.94
5 3085 Bernard LAGAT USAUSA 13:06.78 SB
6 2444 Andrew BUTCHART GBRGBR 13:08.61 PB
7 2175 Albert Kibichii ROP BRNBRN 13:08.79
8 3015 Joshua Kiprui CHEPTEGEI UGAUGA 13:09.17
9 2162 Birhanu BALEW BRNBRN 13:09.26 PB
10 2343 Abrar OSMAN ERIERI 13:09.56
11 3089 Hassan MEAD USAUSA 13:09.81
12 2395 Dejen GEBREMESKEL ETHETH 13:15.91
13 2896 Elroy GELANT RSARSA 13:17.47
14 2048 Brett ROBINSON AUSAUS 13:32.30
15 2825 David TORRENCE PERPER 13:43.12
2393 Muktar EDRIS ETHETH DQ R 163.3b