Home > The Scene

World Athletics unveils finalists for 2023 World Athlete of the Year

New marathon world record holders Kelvin Kiptum and Tigist Assefa were named finalists for the award

Kelvin Kiptum Photo by: Kevin Morris

On Tuesday, the finalists for the 2023 World Athlete of the Year award were unveiled on World Athletics’ social media pages. This award showcases the remarkable performances of the 2023 season that captivated track and field.

The 10 finalists, representing eight countries, have left their mark on the world of athletics. Their stellar accomplishments spanned various disciplines, from triumphs at the 2023 World Athletics Championships in Budapest to setting world records at one-day meeting circuits, road races and other prestigious events across the globe.

Faith Kipyegon Diribe welteji
Kenya’s Faith Kipyegon celebrates her 1,500m win at the 2023 World Athletics Championships. Photo: Kevin Morris

Here are the five male and five female finalists for the award.

Male finalists:

Neeraj Chopra (IND) – Javelin

  • World champion
  • Asian Games champion

Ryan Crouser (USA) – Shot Put

  • World champion
  • World record holder (23.56 metres)

Mondo Duplantis (SWE) – Pole Vault

  • World champion
  • Diamond League champion with a world record (6.23 metres)
Mondo Duplantis
Sweden’s Mondo Duplantis at the 2023 World Athletics Championships. Photo: Kevin Morris

Kelvin Kiptum (KEN) – Marathon

  • London and Chicago Marathon winner
  • Men’s marathon world record (2:00:35)

Noah Lyles (USA) – 100m/200m

  • World 100m and 200m champion (first man to win the double at worlds since 2015)
  • Undefeated in six finals at 200m

Noah Lyles fires back at rapper Drake’s comment

Female finalists:

Tigist Assefa (ETH) – Marathon

  • Berlin Marathon winner
  • Women’s marathon world record holder (2:11:53)
Tigist Assefa
Tigist Assefa breaks the women’s world marathon record at the 2023 BMW Berlin Marathon. Photo: Kevin Morris

Femke Bol (NED) – 400m/400m hurdles

  • World 400m hurdles champion
  • World indoor 400m record holder (49.26 seconds)

Shericka Jackson (JAM) – 100m/200m

  • World 200m champion and 100m silver medallist
  • Diamond League 100m and 200m champion

Faith Kipyegon (KEN) – 1,500m/Mile/5,000m

  • World 1,500m and 5,000m champion
  • Set world records over 1,500m, mile and 5,000m (3:49.11/4:07.64/14:05.20)
Faith Kipyegon
Kenya’s Kipyegon smiles after setting a new mile world record at the 2023 Wanda Diamond League Athletics Meeting in Monaco. Photo: Kevin Morris

Yulimar Rojas (VEN) – Triple Jump

  • World champion
  • Diamond League champion

The finalists were chosen through a three-way voting process involving the World Athletics Council, the World Athletics Family and track and field fans online. Fans had the opportunity to cast their votes online through World Athletics’ social media platforms, contributing to a record-breaking two million votes.

Canadian decathlon world champion Pierce LePage was one of the 11 nominees for the award but did not advance from the voting process. Another athlete snubbed of a finalist nomination was Norway’s Jakob Ingebrigtsen, who set world bests over 2,000m and two miles. Finalist voting concluded on October 28.

Pierce LePage and Damian Warner take gold and silver in men’s decathlon

The World Athletes of the Year award will be named on Dec. 11, as part of the 2023 World Athletics Awards in Monaco.

Check out the latest buyer's guide:

Top 10 shoes our testers are loving in June

We tested tons of great shoes this year, but only the very best make the list