Home > Rio 2016

Complete list of runners on Canada’s Olympic track team

Canada's Olympic track team was announced on Monday afternoon in Edmonton following the national championships (photo: Dave Holland).

Canadian track championships

Athletics Canada, the national governing body for track and field, made its biggest announcement in four years today by revealing the Rio 2016 roster.

The announcement came Monday at 1 p.m. EDT following the end of the Canadian track and field championships which concluded on Sunday afternoon. The organizing committee met in Edmonton on Sunday and into Monday to determine who would be named to the final team roster.

At nationals, the top two athletes in each event, provided they have a fast enough time in their respective event (the Olympic standard), automatically qualified for the team. If a third person was named, it was by virtue of the organizing committee’s discretion based on their ability to run fast at the Olympics.

The Olympic Games begin Aug. 5 in Rio and are set to conclude Aug. 21.

Recaps from the national championships: Day one, day two, day three and day four.

Notable: Cam Levins, the Canadian 10,000m record holder, was left off the team. Matt Hughes, despite not racing at the Olympic trials, was named to the men’s 3,000m steeplechase team. Rachel Cliff was not named to the women’s 5,000m team despite hitting standard recently. Jessica Smith and Fiona Benson, both with 800m standard, were not named to the team.


Men: Andre De Grasse, Aaron Brown and Akeem Haynes.
Women: Crystal Emmanuel.


Men: Brendon Rodney, Andre De Grasse and Aaron Brown
Women: Crystal Emmanuel and Kimberly Hyacinthe


Men: No qualifiers.
Women: Carline Muir, Alicia Brown and Kendra Clarke.


Men: Brandon McBride and Anthony Romaniw.
Women: Melissa Bishop.

Melissa Bishop


Men: Charles Philibert-Thiboutot, Nate Brannen.
Women: Gabriela Stafford, Nicole Sifuentes and Hilary Stellingwerff.


Men: Mo Ahmed and Luc Bruchet
Women: Andrea Seccafien and Jessica O’Connell.


Men: Mo Ahmed.
Women: Natasha Wodak and Lanni Marchant


Men: Reid Coolsaet and Eric Gillis
Women: Lanni Marchant and Krista DuChene

3,000m steeplechase

Men: Taylor Milne, Chris Winter and Matt Hughes.
Women: Erin Teschuk, Maria Bernard and Geneviève Lalonde

100m hurdles

Women: Phylicia George, Nikkita Holder and Angela Whyte.

110m hurdles

Men: Johnathan Cabral and Sekou Kaba.

400m hurdles

Men: No qualifiers.
Women: Noelle Montcalm, Sage Watson and Chanice Chase.

4x100m relay

Men: Andre De Grasse, Brendon Rodney, Mobolade Ajomale, Segun Makinde, Akeem Haynes and Aaron Brown.
Women: Khamica Bingham, Crystal Emmanuel, Phylicia George, Farah Jacques, Marissa Kurtimah and Kimberly Hyacinthe.

4x400m relay

Women: Sage Watson, Micha Powell, Carline Muir, Kendra Clarke, Chanice Chase and Alicia Brown.


Men: Damian Warner.


Women: Brianne Theisen-Eaton.