Home > Runs & Races

The complete list of Canadians with World Championship standard

The complete list of Canadians who have achieved the IAAF World Championship standard, and a few who are really close

Andre De Grasse

The Canadian Track and Field Championships are under one week away and the first runner across the line in each event with World Championship standard will automatically qualify for Doha 2019.

Andre De Grasse at Harry Jerome Track Classic 2018. Photo: Maxine Gravina

RELATED: Must-see match-ups at Canadian Track Championships

This auto-qual has attracted some of the biggest names in Canadian athletics to come and race on home soil. There are several Canadians who have already been named to the team for the longer distance events: Natasha Wodak (10,000m), Mohammed Ahmed (10,000m), Mathieu Bilodeau (50K race walk), Evan Dunfee (50K race walk), Rachel Seaman (20K race walk), Lyndsay Tessier (marathon) and John Mason (marathon). The rest of the team will be selected after August 26.

Pictured: Lyndsey Tessier. Photo: Maxine Gravina

RELATED: Lyndsay Tessier named to World Championship team for marathon

Canadian men with standard:

Andre De Grasse – 100m, 200m
Aaron Brown – 100m, 200m
Brendon Rodney – 200m
Philip Osei – 400m
Brandon McBride – 800m
Marco Arop – 800m
Mohammed Ahmed – 5,000m, 10,000m
Justyn Knight – 5,000m
Matt Hughes – 3,000m SC
Ryan Smeeton – 3,000m SC
John Gay – 3,000m SC

Tristan Woodfine – marathon
John Mason – marathon
Berhanu Degefa – marathon
Cam Levins – marathon

Honourable mentions (runners who are painfully close but haven’t quite hit it):

William Paulson – 1,500m
Gavin Smellie – 200m
Jean-Simon Desgagnes – 3,000m SC

Canadian women with standard:

Crystal Emmanuel – 100m, 200m
Kyra Constantine – 400m
Maddy Price – 400m
Natassha McDonald – 400m
Gabriela DeBues-Stafford – 1,500m, 5,000m
Jess O’Connell – 5,000m
Andrea Seccafien – 5,000m
Gen Lalonde – 3,000m SC
Regan Yee – 3,000m SC
Maria Bernard – 3,000m SC
Phylicia George – 100mH
Sage Watson – 400mH
Natasha Wodak – 10,000m

Rachel Cliff – marathon, 10,000m
Leslie Sexton – marathon
Lyndsay Tessier – marathon
Malindi Elmore – marathon
Sasha Gollish – marathon
Melanie Myrand – marathon
Emily Setlack – marathon
Kinsey Middleton – marathon
Krista DuChene – marathon

Melissa Bishop
Photo: Claus Andersen/Athletics Canada.

Honourable mentions (runners who are painfully close but haven’t quite hit it):

Melissa Bishop-Nriagu – 800m
Alycia Butterwoth – 3,000m SC
Charlotte Prouse – 3,000m SC