Home > Runs & Races

Long Island Mile remembers David Torrence

Canadians Charles Philibert-Thiboutot and Ben Flanagan both broke four minutes at the race

Last year the running scene was shook with the tragic death of track athlete David Torrence. Torrence, an Olympian who ran for HOKA ONE ONE, was found dead at the bottom on a swimming pool on Aug. 28, 2017. He was 31 years old. 

RELATED: Athletes remember David Torrence with tribute race at Long Island Mile

Torrence was a big part of the Long Island Mile. The race is a community event that also brings an elite field of men and women looking to break four minutes for the men, and 4:30 for the women. The event website says, “In our inaugural year we knew it was imperative for the legitimacy of our event to bring in a strong field of athletes who would not only race well, but have patience in dealing with first time meet directors. With much enthusiasm, David agreed to come.  Not only did he participate, but he won the race in a still-standing meet record of 3:53.91, a time that was impressive for the fans to watch, and turned the heads of a few athletes that would decide to come race the mile in later years.”


The men’s race has now been named the David Torrence Mile in memory of the runner. Charles Philibert-Thiboutot and Ben Flanagan both broke four minutes at the race. 

RELATED: Ben Flanagan has signed with Reebok

Both runners have had exciting summers, Philibert-Thiboutot qualified to represent the Americas at the Continental Cup this weekend in Ostrava, Czech Republic, and Flanagan won the NCAA 10,000m and signed a deal with Reebok and their newly formed Reebok Boston Track Club. 

Philibert-Thiboutot was second in 3:56.62 and Flanagan was seventh in 3:57.75. Flanagan’s goal was the break four minutes for the first time, and he achieved it easily. Wednesday was Flanagan’s first time wearing the Reebok kit and racing as a signed athlete. 

In the women’s results, Kate Van Buskirk finished sixth in 4:32.09. Van Buskirk is the Canadian indoor mile record holder. Shannon Osika took the win in 4:29.91.